A Time For Reflection

26 12 2012

reflectionI recently received an email with the subject title: What career advice did your parents give you? Given the fact that yesterday was Christmas and I have so much to be thankful for, I thought it was only appropriate to address this question in my blog.
My parents taught me many things about being in the workforce. Some of the things they verbalized, but most of what I learned was by watching how they conducted themselves. Here is a short list:
1. Be early, stay late and do more than is expected.
2. No matter what you do, be the best at it.
3. The harder you work, the luckier you will be.
4. You don’t have to be the smartest if you have the ability to outwork everyone else.
5. Continue to invest in yourself…it will pay dividends.
6. Be honest and have integrity in all that you do.

My parents always wanted their kids to have it better than they did. I owe much of my success to both of them. They worked hard at raising me and my brothers. I can only imagine how difficult it was for them at times to give us all the wonderful things that we had growing up. The sacrifices they made so we could have nice things.
I only wish that my mom could have lived just a little bit longer so I could pay her back during her retirement and spoil her like she spoiled me. Thankfully, I still have my dad. I can say that after my mom passed, my dad and I became much closer. I will continue to do everything in my power to make certain my dad has everything he needs whether it is help making ends meet or extra spending money to do fun things he should be doing during retirement.

I can NEVER pay them back for all they have given me…but I can sure try.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

