Our Yearly Ritual

31 12 2010

new-years-resolution-be-more-awesome

It is that time of year where we all participate in the same New Year’s ritual.  No, I don’t mean your celebrations, drinking, or hanging out with friends and family like I am tonight with the exception of having managed to slip away to write these thoughts.

To some extent, it IS about reflecting on our past and being grateful for what we have in our lives.  But what I am really talking about is simply the ritual of making a resolution to change, a promise to ourselves to do something new or different.  What we all share is one common desire –to make this year better than our last.

2010 was quite a year.  As I finish the last hour or so of this year, I can’t help but say “Wow, I love who I am, I love what I’ve accomplished, and I love how I feel!”  Most importantly, I can’t  wait to become the better and improved version of myself!

2011, I am declaring right now, will be the best year of my life.  What I look forward to the MOST with each New Year’s Eve, is my ability to envision what I want most out of the new year and then I go and make it happen. We all have the power to do this.  It is a choice we can each make that will radically shift the way we see ourself, others and the world.

In order to have the best year of my life, I must open up to greater realities and be willing to develop new aspects.  I can’t cling to who I am right now and think I can coast along on this past year’s coattails.  I have 5 specific things I want to perfect in 2011.  I vow to live each day of the coming year with the rock-solid intent to make it the best year of my life–no matter what happens, no matter what changes around me take place.  I must hold myself accountable.  I won’t do anything too different than I have done all the other years, expect for the fact that I will challenge even more so my self-defeating behaviors and find new ways of reacting to the everyday events that shape each experience.

In exactly one year from today, I hope that I can write about how 2011 was the best year of my life.  I am looking forward to meeting the next greatest version of myself.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

